Poets logo

Whistling Symphonies

Which is to say...

By Wendy MuskPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1

My father was a poor Brooklyn boy

Who could whistle symphonies.

Having had nothing,

He gave me everything

Which is to say,

Music.

I practiced Mozart on our new Baldwin upright

In a bay window alcove

With a view of a hedge.

My father read the NY Times

Holding it aloft

A paper sail catching melodies

Which is to say,

He listened.

At 4 o’clock on Fridays

A patient teacher with knobby fingers

Taught mine to fly across the keys.

I played Solfegietto until my fingers caught fire

Fur Elise until I wept

Which is to say,

My feet finally reached the pedals.

At fifteen I entered competitions

Collected little medals in a shiny black box

Skipped school to practice

Dreamt a dream bigger than a lifetime

Which is to say,

Being a musician.

For twenty years I toured the world.

Eventually, I learned to listen.

Music said, don’t rush.

Don’t push the tempo until it breaks

Which is to say,

I fell irrevocably in love with a composer.

We made our world a sanctuary

Raised musical children

Kept the dream alive.

Music said, find the space between the notes

The infinity you seek is there.

Which is to say,

Take comfort and rest a little.

No one will realize you’re missing.

After three quarters of a century

My father unzipped the universe

And left by the back kitchen door.

I framed the sketch of an eagle he penciled

on the front page margin of the Times

And placed it on our old upright piano.

Which is to say,

I can hear him whistling along

as I practice Mozart

In the bay window

Now, with a view of a forest.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Wendy Musk

Creative curriculum designer/ Director, Shakespeare Repertory/ Author:"Writing By Heart"; "Word Market"; "Global Game". Flutist/ recording artist. Forever student, word lover.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.