Poets logo

Where you lead, I will follow

A letter to my mother

By Kay HusnickPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Where you lead, I will follow
Photo by Harry Cunningham on Unsplash

Dear Mom,

I look in the mirror, and I don't see any trace of you in my reflection, but I hear you in my laugh.

You're 400 miles away, but when I step in the kitchen, you're right there next to me in the recipes as I bake, present in my instincts as I experiment.

Your stories etched into memory, childhood cleaning playlists still play in the background of my apartment as I fill Goodwill boxes

You're with me in the rings on my right hand, in my appreciation of the forest, in my love of books and the way I carry myself

I look in the mirror, and I see my father's eyes and his family's genes, but that is all he gave me.

You gave me everything.

list
Like

About the Creator

Kay Husnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.