Poets logo

Where Words Go

If I would let them

By Sandra MatosPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
2
Where Words Go
Photo by Miguel Luis on Unsplash

What if I was alone every day?

The way that I wish I was?

Even though I am alone every day,

all day.

But not the way that I wish I was.

What am I looking for?

A room with a door?

I have those.

I need a door for my mind.

It is never quiet there.

I need to hush my thoughts.

Or

maybe I should write what hides there.

Maybe I should not answer the phone.

Keep those words that I throw carelessly away

and use them instead

on the vast blankness of the page

that lays in front of me

begging to hear me speak.

Free Verse
2

About the Creator

Sandra Matos

I write so that people will remember me. I make art for the same reason. I had a mother that I never knew. Who she was, how she smelled, or what she valued. I don't want anyone to wonder who I was.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart16 days ago

    Let the words be free. This was quietly and eloquently very relatable and profound. Love i, Sandra

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.