Poets logo

Where the wind takes the honey bee

A person of no consequence

By Ricky LahiriPublished 21 days ago 1 min read
Like
Where the wind takes the honey bee
Photo by Dmitry Grigoriev on Unsplash

I am but a feather in the wind

A grain of sand in the storm

A flake of snow in the blizzard

Determined to sing freedom's songs.



I flow with the water, blow with the wind

As light as cotton, a song they sing

As full of air as the liar's glare

As small and ignoble as the hangman's stare.



Where it ends I know not

For no one, nothing I ever fought

The wind carries me across the sea

At the sight of waves, I don't flee.



For who am I, a tiny being

Onto forces strong I cling

No end to my travel, I am faint

I flow with the water, I am just sane.



And for my obscurity who is to blame

I was born a grain of dust in the rain

Unlike you, I don't desire change

Not one of the many who act in haste.



So I travel the realm, from the river to the sea

As far as my tiny eyes can see

Yet, nothing, no one ever stops me

Who am I, but a tiny honey bee.

You can follow me on X(Twitter) for the latest updates on new poems and much more. Here's a link to my X(Twitter) profile: X(Twitter) Profile

Song Lyricsvintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetryLimerickhumorFree Verseart
Like

About the Creator

Ricky Lahiri

I am a researcher during the day and a poet and novelist at night. I am greatly influenced by the poetry of T.S. Elliot, Robert Browning and Robert Frost and by the prose of Leo Tolstoy, Dostoevsky and Dickens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.