Poets logo

Where the Peace is

By Jessica Boyes

By Jess BoyesPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
42

It’s waking on a Sunday as the sun comes up,

still rugged up, lying in bed in silence.

The distant sound of birds chirping softly,

knowing that I don’t need to get up if I don’t want to,

but I do because; coffee.

It’s sitting out on the balcony, watching the sunrise; colours of pink and yellow reflecting off the city,

thinking whether I’m supposed to be anywhere else,

and even if I was, surely they wouldn’t miss me?

It’s laying on the sofa, shouting out answers to the game show I’m watching,

hoping the neighbours can’t hear,

but I doubt that’ll stop me.

It’s the smell of freshly baked bread, straight from my oven,

cutting the first slice,

with lashings of butter.

It’s where it’s safe and secure, and where there’s no judgement,

I’m lucky to have such a space,

it’s truly a godsend.

It’s where rest is; the calm is; the happiness; the peace is.

It’s home.

performance poetry
42

About the Creator

Jess Boyes

From Melbourne, Australia, I love creative writing and food, particularly a good quality cheese or some sort of dairy.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    (PS I have a series of photographs (at least thirty) of the city that goes from Portarlington all the way round to Black Rock and your image would slot straight in)

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Good Morning Melbourne! Your piece instills a very relaxed vibe that resonates across time and space - it's a beautiful thing!

  • Joan Crow2 years ago

    Having my own safe haven is one of the things that makes me most comfy :)

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is beautiful. I had previously hearted, but enjoyed the reread.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Brilliant and,beautful! This is a re-read. Previously hearted!!!😊💕

  • Connor Faraday2 years ago

    This sounds amazing, and you seem like you have the presence of mind to fully appreciate it 🙂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.