Poets logo

Where I'm From

A Poetic Biography

By Cassie GracePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1
A Green Corduroy Armchair

I am from a green corduroy covered armchair,

From Legos and dolls and books.

I am from a foster home,

And later my mom & dad’s home.

I am from a small group of trees in the backyard,

That I pretended was a forest where feral animals prowled.

I am from books and reading over mommy’s shoulder.

I am from Adoptive & Biological,

From Bridge and Woods*.

I am from the broken and the whole,

From love and emptiness,

From overwhelming emotions that I don’t always understand.

I am from sinners and Christians,

Though there’s not really a difference, because everyone is a sinner.

I am from Adam and Eve,

From Kenny and Laura Lee*.

I am from pen and paper,

From flesh and blood,

And from love and choices.

I am from complaining about tangled hair,

From braids and bows.

I am from scissors and paper hearts,

From handmade cards for mom and dad.

I am from the swing set in the backyard,

From the trampoline playing popcorn with my brother and sister.

I am from bumps, bruises and scrapes,

From running to daddy, crying,

From daddy kissing my boo boos and sending me back to play.

I am from laughter and squeals,

From tears and hugs,

From apologies and kisses.

I am from goodnight kisses and bedtime stories,

I am from books and reading over mommy’s shoulder.

I am from Legos and dolls and books,

Hiding from the world behind a green corduroy covered armchair.

*Names have been changed to protect identities*

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Cassie Grace

I'm from Kentucky. I write stuff. I use inspiration from my personal life for most of my writing. I'm currently working on writing a book, but we'll see how that turns out. For now, enjoy some of my poems and random archived writings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.