Poets logo

Where I'm From

Love & Nostalgia

By Funke KonradPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Where I'm From
Photo by Muhammed Abiodun on Unsplash

Where I’m from

I am from sun-filled days and cold moonlit nights,

With the desert wind howling outside paned windows.

I’m from the permeating aroma of a thousand rams being roasted,

During the yearly Big Salah celebration.

I’m from Saturday morning cartoons and Sunday visits.

I’m from busy markets, ripe, juicy yellow mangoes,

And malaria-carrying mosquitoes.

I’m from oppressive military rule to a shaky democracy,

From naps under lime trees and excursions to Olumo Rock.

I’m from loving Parents, doting Siblings,

Caring Kith and Kin.

I’m from overcoming obstacles,

And making it to the Land of the Free.

I’m from physical pain and emotional ecstasy.

From strong Faith, stoic Hope and Lemonades out of Lemons.

I am from Grace, Grace unending.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Funke Konrad

Born in Nigeria, made for the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.