Poets logo

Where home exists

J.B. Rage

By J.B. RagePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 months ago 2 min read
1
Where home exists
Photo by Issy Bailey on Unsplash

Home is something unknown to me.

like trying to reach the bottom of the sea.

a pressure so great I always feel it to be.

I’ve started to feel it’s something not for me.

home is somewhere safe and warm,

I’ve not found this in any form.

now I sit silently in a vacant dorm,

overwhelmed with a feeling of distant impatience.

Am I destined to be constantly adrift I see a tear

crying all day has become my norm,

looking for a place I fear don’t exist,

in the heart of someone so torn.

I travel the world in search of a place for me

my soul yearns for a feeling of belonging,

never stopping to look and admire sites so clear

home isn’t for me has become my biggest fear.

regret is building as I avoid all connect to anyone that

might never see that I’m here,

hiding in the dark pushing away anyone that might be hurt by,

my passing glance for if I let them in it will make it harder to leave

on the day that my heart tells me, it’s time to retreat.

I don’t get attached for I know that ill eventually leave.

yet I wish for a connection or a sign that this may be,

a place I call home because I need that relief.

does home exist in this world?

will I roam this planet for eternity?

I ask for some time in each place,

it feels like a race but never find my space.

dazed and confused but I’m always replaced,

I think I find a home so I think I find release?

Could this be it? Oh god, let it be oh please.

This seems ok for a while maybe home is here

Then without a warning like a tornado that ripped through the field,

It’s gone in an instant and I’m back where I began

Alone and distraught with just the bag in my hand.

All that I’ve wanted, all the work I’ve put in up in smoke leaving me broke and confused.

What’d I do this time for this comfort to disappear?

Maybe someday I’ll learn the mistakes I’ve made

then in a glimpse home might just come near.

Close enough for me to see and then all might be clear.

But till that day arrives I’m searching for a place to call home.

A love I can lay my head safely without any fear.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

J.B. Rage

the elusive wordsmith, dances on the edge of reality& imagination. Born in shadowed alleys of forgotten libraries, His ink-stained fingers weave tales that defy gravity& logic. His typewriter hums secrets, As his quill whispers to the moon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    J.B. Rage your poem captures the complexities of the search for home and the longing for a place of acceptance and love.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.