Poets logo

Where He Used to Be

The Hardships of Moving On

By Miranda MerrittPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3

He won't look back.

Not for all the flowers,

Or fuzzy brown bears.

He wouldn't, couldn't,

Not even on a silly dare.

He won't look back.

Not for all the memories,

Good or bad.

He remains steadfast

Even if he is a little sad.

He wont look back,

Not to see my face,

Or to hold me in his embrace.

He cannot look back

Because the past he cannot face.

He wont look back

Not for all the love we shared,

Or the anger that was there.

He will not turn around

For vulnerability he cannot bear.

He won't look back,

But if it were left up to me

He would turn around to see

That my eyes look back

To where he used to be.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Miranda Merritt

I write poems and, sometimes, longer short stories. My inspiration comes from my feelings. I take into account what I am trying to express and then do my best to express those feelings through words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.