Poets logo

Where Does This Road Lead Us?

A Journey. A life.

By Danya WhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Curving Roads

I hear the sound of the train calling. Where does it lead us? This road.

Where are the answers?

Buried under rocks?

Should I kick them? Turn them over gently?

Scream?

Would someone hear me if I did? Would they come running to help?

9-1-1 I think. Would they get here fast enough?

How did we get here? How did I get here? Can I go back in the direction I came?

I don’t think life works like that. Time certainly does not.

What's next?

Searching for answers. Turning over those rocks. Asking the universe for clues, synchronicities, coincidences.

Will the gods find me? Do spirits watch over me?

Sometimes we know where we’re going, sometimes we do not. A lot of times we do not.

Finding peace in the unknown. Getting comfortable with putting one foot in front of the other…confidently.

It gets easier.

We even start to laugh a little. We find the humor in life. Perhaps life finds the humor in us.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Danya White

Storyteller. Everybody has a story to tell.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.