Poets logo

Where Does The Water Come From

And Where Does It Go

By Just DanielPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
5
Where Does The Water Come From
Photo by USGS on Unsplash

Where does the water come from,

but more importantly where does it go?

Can we ever live up to our past,

we may never know.

.

Life is a journey,

a journey of ups and downs,

be careful of the rollercoasters,

they'll turn your life all around.

.

Where does the water come from,

I've heard this saying a thousand plus one times,

making sure I never forget,

making me feel like if I do forget, it would be a crime,

but in actuality, it makes me trapped like a fish in a net.

.

Where does the water come from,

now it's me saying it so now I've been hearing it for at least a thousand times plus two,

tradition dictates I pass down this saying,

but I would just like to say I will make some changes to it,

more than just a few.

.

By Robson Hatsukami Morgan on Unsplash

.

Where does the water come from,

where does it go,

what if the beginning of water is stagnant,

what does this show?

.

How do we honor the ones that came before us,

why must we keep the tradition alive,

when all we want to do is survive?

.

Where do we come from,

where do we go,

Fame and Fortune finds some,

where others have nothing to show.

.

Yes, I remember where the water comes from,

I remember everything and more,

I remember now that I have to take on the burden of everyone who came before me,

I have to reach the opposite shore.

.

But wait, I was only taught to always remember where the water comes from,

not to know where it goes,

so here I am, at the foot of the mountain,

paralyzed, watching, waiting,

as the dam breaks! as the dam breaks...

.

.

By Dave Hoefler on Unsplash

.

The torrent and pressure of water should've swept me clean off my feet,

But I dig my arms and legs into the ground and refuse to give in to the pressure,

so I can be here, at the crossroads where all the elements do meet.

.

Water from above, the air and sky above it,

the earth that I've planted myself in,

the ground almost swallowing me whole as it sees fit.

.

Oh and the fire, the burning raging fire bursting forth from my heart,

I will blossom from all this knowledge that came before me,

I will set myself apart.

.

Water should not be stagnant.

It should not stay in one place.

It is moving and versatile,

and can also disappear without a trace.

.

It is stronger than any force we've ever known,

it gains and grows with every inch, every centimeter of the race,

its true potential never shown.

.

Where does the water come from,

where does it go,

what if the water is tainted,

which direction does it flow?

.

We have the beginning,

that much we are thankful for,

The foundation of what we are today,

the essentials, the core.

.

Water is something left unfinished,

Water is the blanket that is all around,

Water is the moisture in every material,

Water is the terrifying unknown that can swallow all sound.

.

Water is you.

Water is me.

Water is the lake, the river, the ocean,

Water is the tree.

.

Water is the beginning,

and water might be the end,

but we also might just end up back at the beginning,

in a full circle, right beyond that bend.

.

Until we get there, if we get there,

we may never know.

Time will tell.

If we ever understand and know:

Where does the water come from and where does it go.

By Dan Meyers on Unsplash

social commentary
5

About the Creator

Just Daniel

I write short fiction when I have time. There are also elements of my life interwoven with fantasy that I incorporated into my writing. I also like the unknown, so enter into the dark, true, and mysterious if you dare...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • E.K. Daniels2 months ago

    I loved this for so many reasons. Deceptively simple, but deep in its meaning and metaphor. It is almost song-like in its repetition, but each repeat served a purpose. I love that you question the weight of what comes before, and the lineage of tainted water. Fascinating. To me, it suggests the possibility of change. Water can be purified, change states, be fluid, solid, etc. Fabulous.

  • Alina Lukeabout a year ago

    This poem sure inserted countless thoughts into my head! It would be interesting if you talked about the survival of the human race through utilizing the 70% of water humans are made of.

  • Cindy Read2 years ago

    Amazing work!! I love the rhythm of your poetry. I love the roots this message plants in me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.