Poets logo

Where do I Belong?

A poem

By Ada ZubaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Where do I Belong?
Photo by Jiri Brtnik on Unsplash

Where do I belong?

I have no idea.

My personality takes from others.

I observe and I become.

My motions are someone else’s.

I look at habits they become mine.

I look at magazines

And I want to be pretty.

I look in the mirror and I am no longer me.

I have become someone else.

Who is this person?

Why do I not recognize her?

She’s staring at me

yet I don’t know who she is.

Where do I belong?

Not here.

Not there.

Why do I try so hard?

I need to be me.

With him I feel like myself.

I can do the things I love.

I can laugh and run.

I can be curious.

I can tell dad jokes and not care.

I can dance at every wedding.

I can let him argue about politics.

My emotions are not canceled.

I can be vulnerable.

I can cry in front of him.

I can challenge him.

I can finally be free.

I belong with him.

I’m in love with him and always have.

He was meant for me.

Sharing? That’s not me.

Being with a woman? That’s not who I am.

Accepting others? Yes, love is love.

I know I’m a straight line

while others can be zig zags.

And maybe a curved line.

I know who I am.

I am with him.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello and welcome to my page. I love reading fantasy, mystery and thrillers. I am an Amazon Affiliate Marketer even if I make no money, but it keeps my spending habits down. I love writing in different genres and challenging myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Ada Zuba is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.