Poets logo

Where Can I Find It?

The Love of my Home is in my Heart.

By Yolanda Olivia AndersonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
15
Photo By: Y.O.A

It is a sense of protection and warmth,

Some sort of strength that empowers you even when you are alone or far away.

Tangible yet untouchable, I can feel it at a moment’s notice or share it with those I meet along the way.

How do you describe a sense of comfort and peace? No one can buy it or find it simply by walking through a door or in a room. A comfortable chair or the crackling of the fireplace creates an ambience, but can it resonate inside your being?

Is it a place or a feeling?

I believe it starts in our mother’s womb - soft, nurturing, protected,

Her breath is mine and my breath is hers.

She talks to me in my surroundings shrouded in darkness, yet full of light.

We build a connection that I grow in - one limb at a time- and I feel free in the place that I belong.

I feel limitless because it is created in the arms that I embrace with,

Woven into the legs that I walk towards my destiny with, clarified in the eyes that absorb the look of love, and sweetens the mouth that sings the words of kindness.

It is our home, our first home, yet not our last. We are only laying the foundation.

It has nothing to do with brick and mortar because that can be destroyed or displaced. Someone can buy the place of shelter, they can rebuild the place where I formed my memories and shared the love of those I hold dear.

But what’s inside can never be touched, though it can be shared. It is what makes me whole in a time of separation.

I call it home because it is where I feel once again safe and protected.

If I can leave and it can be taken away,

Then why can I still feel the love of home in my heart?

Why does it warm me when I am cold and afraid, and soothe me by a mere thought? It was formed in me from the beginning.

The sanctuary of each connection; my mom, my dad, my siblings, my family,

Each lesson, each word, each joy and pain, forms a place into my soul that lives within me always.

It flourishes in growth, unfurling like the blossoms of a flower, rich and colorful, so much so that I find it in the sky, deep and mysterious.

I see it in the stars that light my way on a foggy night.

I breathe it in the wind as it fills my lungs and nurtures my life.

My home surrounds me, my home is within me, my home is created each time I share the love within and recognize the love within you.

Raging storms may come and knock down many structures, but the peace and joy and love of my home stands firm in the path of destruction.

It feeds me when I am hungry, and clothes me when I am cold. It soothes my anger and enriches my love.

How can I build or create a place of sanctity in a structure if I can’t find the decorations of inspiration in the furnishings within?

Why should a bird fly to a nest that is made with no structure? How does he know how to find the materials to build his castle? It is the inner knowing of what gives him peace, love and safety.

My home is within me and that is how I share it and welcome you to feel - at home…

Photo By: Saketh Upadhya on Unsplash

Thank you so much for reading my poem about what home means to me. I hope you enjoyed it. If you did, feel free to click the heart below and subscribe. Remember Home is always with you. Wishing you love and joy! Have a beautiful day!

surreal poetry
15

About the Creator

Yolanda Olivia Anderson

I have loved writing since I was very young. Writing can play as a soft melody or hold the power of a thunderous storm.

I am the author of The Love of Life series on Amazon and enjoy exploring verbal expression in healing and love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.