Poets logo

Where are you now?

Exploring who I am vs who I thought you wanted me to be

By Emmy BPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
2
Where are you now?
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Tell me please who could I be

or what to do with all this fear.

Where are you now, identity?

*

So long your words were my decree:

“Define me please, and keep me near,

tell me please who could I be.”

*

In glistening eyes, a silent plea.

I built a home in every tear -

where are you now, identity?

*

But whilst in sadness I could flee

I asked in anger, fear, and anxious cheer,

tell me, please, who could I be.

*

But now the time has come, chérie,

to face myself and re-appear.

Where are you now, identity?

*

Grab all your faith, serenity,

push forth to build this new frontier!

Tell me please who could I be…

where are you now, identity.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Emmy B

I write some of my truths, and use words to weave stories and ideas together. Writing is a passion and an outlet for me and I hope to inspire, challenge, or simply be a reflection of others's experiences - to make people feel seen!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Patterson5 months ago

    I like.

  • This is an awesome villanelle that captures a thought everyone has throughout their life. It is especially relevant as we close out one year and head into the next.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.