Poets logo

Whenever I am afraid

Life may not wait

By Wimble HuhmanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Whenever I am afraid
Photo by Sascha Bosshard on Unsplash

Whenever I fear that life may not wait

for my pen to finish collecting my vigorous thoughts.

Can't wait for the tall pile of books, in words that

like a rich barn, to put away the ripe grain.

Whenever I see on a starry night

The great cloudy signs of legendary tales.

And think, I may not live to see that day.

To paint its visions with the divine brush of chance.

Whenever I feel, O transient beauty!

I may never see you again.

I may never again see thee, nor revel in the carefree love

And its charms! --And so, on the shore of this vast

And so, on the shore of this vast world, I stood alone, contemplating

Until love and fame are lost in nothingness.

surreal poetrysocial commentary

About the Creator

Wimble Huhman

Where there is soil, where there is water, grass grows

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Wimble HuhmanWritten by Wimble Huhman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.