Poets logo

when your friends gave me the shovel talk

a poem

By Dane BHPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
4
when your friends gave me the shovel talk
Photo by Joel Muniz on Unsplash

me: the cool one. easy to love,

easy to let go. a curl of sage

you can burn to ease

the air, then huff it out

and see how fast I

flee.

*

you: the warm one in

each bed you rest in.

a slow burn that only

gets hot as each year

adds up. you

are held

by all your exes.

they look hard

at me, eyes thin,

grin bare. as if to say:

do not wreck this fire.

do not turn your back

to his soft sun.

don't you dare

hurt him.

*

once you know

a love like that -

bare and bold,

born of time

and ache

and pain

and care,

I see no end

to what you can hold.

even me.

even me.

love poems
4

About the Creator

Dane BH

By day, I'm a cog in the nonprofit machine, and poet. By night, I'm a creature of the internet. My soul is a grumpy cat who'd rather be sleeping.

Top Story count: 17

www.danepoetry.com

Check out my Vocal Spotlight and my Vocal Podcast!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer10 months ago

    This blew me away great poetry

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Wonderful words!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    Great work, I particularly love the first stanza, it's such a great metaphor, the sage, clearing the air.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.