Poets logo

When You Weren’t Sober

I loved you more

By Rayn BPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

I loved you more

When you weren’t sober.

//

You seemed more magical

After you would pop a pill

//

And you’d say I’d feel the power

If I’d just snort some of your powder…

//

Oh, it’s such a tragedy

That your alleged sobriety

Has got me seeing things

That I don’t want to see.

//

Did I love you more

When you weren’t sober?

//

Or did your use of substances

Disguise your lack of substance?

//

You’ve been 12 months clean,

Or so you say on Instagram…

But it’s been less than 6 months

Since you took my alprazolam.

//

And I’ve got texts from this year

When you relapsed on cocaine

I offered reassurance,

Said you could start over again

//

But you’re lying to people

Who look up to you…

I wish I could still

Look up to you.

//

But I’ve been deceived

Too many times…

Don’t worry; I won’t force

Admission to your crimes

Because, maybe I loved you more

When you weren’t sober…

//

Or maybe I loved you more

When you were someone

I don’t know anymore.

social commentarysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Rayn B

I have been writing poetry and lyrics since I was a child. I have recently started writing short scripts for “found footage” horror TikToks. I dream of writing books and full length screenplays. Thanks for being in this community with me!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is powerful and incredibly well written. Love this "Or did your use of substances Disguise your lack of substance?"

  • Timabout a year ago

    So good. Heartbreaking to journey through but told very confidently and vulnerably at the same time. Thank you for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.