Poets logo

When we were young

Poetry

By WOAPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
When we were young
Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

I belted the fancy to my farce; you smiled, elven in the summer snows. Why couldn't we cinch our hips to the sun; why couldn't we play flutes on moons; why couldn't we sway under vellum stars, a thousand years old...

Do you remember when we had timid toes and dangerous desires? I remember hallowed hopes now fallowed fells. Today I frayed the belt centimeters more. I have notches and scratches and cuts and scuffs. And yet it clings to our wastes...

The weight of time grains into the leathers of years like wet cement and horsehairs I used to prance wearing, like feathered ladies. We no longer hold hands under slivers of moons and felt tip tents; I feel the missing space, the ache of addiction. I fear its satiation.

love poems
4

About the Creator

WOA

Just trying it out to see what its like.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • OneWithPen10 months ago

    I traveled a journey unaware of its necessity for my development as, at its end, it displayed what I pretended to ignore but could not abandon. Thank you for presenting your work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.