Poets logo

When Time Refuses to Progress

Putting children to sleep isn't for lightweights

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago 1 min read
13
https://pixabay.com/users/victoria_watercolor-6314823/

seconds drift to days

mountains build, crumble, now dust

please; please; go to sleep

-----------

Haiku can express anything!

But when children need a bigger voice, they need our help.

and sometimes we learn the most when we are with our children.

You have so MUCH power as a reader! Did you know all of the ways you can interact with what you read on Vocal?

Leave 'hearts' and 'comments' on posts you enjoy. This one, for instance!

Subscribe to the writers that write the stuff you like.

Leave a Tip for an article that you enjoyed and/or opened your eyes to something new.

Share the stuff you like on your own social media and you will delight a writer for days!

childrens poetry
13

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • PK Colleranabout a year ago

    Oh my gosh! Been there! Thank you for such an expressive haiku.

  • Jason Ray Morton about a year ago

    Awesome!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Beautiful!!!

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    I feel that pain. Like nails down a chalk board!

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    Love it. I think I have said that last line a few times.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This...is so relatable! So beautifully put together and expressed Judey, well done!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Yes!!! Oh, I felt every word in that one. Brilliant!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Looks like I have something to look forward to with my own kids 😅

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Outstanding and do I ever know what you're talking about.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Love the last line❤️ Well done Judey

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    nicely done. that last line is perfect.

  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    yup - lived it! nicely captured!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I know the feeling , nice job 👌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.