Poets logo

When Time Is Thieved and Breath Be Gone

The Reflex Lost For Oxygen

By Mary Jo HanlyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
28
Dusted In Magic

When time is thieved and breath be gone,

With echoed thoughts is he the one?

The reflex lost for oxygen, my spirit leaves me dancing

All motion crazed co-ordination, nervous tremors, no vibration

His smile reflecting my elation. Will we be romancing?

My history’s dealt me savage blows, few spoken, some nobody knows

Can’t hold this feeling back, it grows. Will he understand me?

A glimpse of his slight nervousness, I picture us in shared caress

Oh please replace this emptiness. Be him that treats me sweetly

I know his face, we’ve seen before.

On this same day through this same door.

I think he’d like to see me more but never can be certain.

Delusional our gaze may be. His focus may not be on me.

Is every woman seen to be a prize behind his curtain

It’s when the lights do start to dim,

That I can rest my eyes on him.

The chances that he’ll notice, slim. Performance is his master.

I crave for him, my stomach turns. Is it just me or does he yearn.

For us to share in this concern. To blend our love filled laughter

His velvet voice does reach to me,

His lyrics strike me tenderly

And mannerisms seem to be, suggesting invitation

To move with him, to be his lover, surely not fixed on another

How can I at all recover from such a strong gestation

I come to see him tall and sleek,

The numbers grow, with every week

We’ll never get a chance to speak, should I not venture bravely

With Hollands courage I see a chance, take to the floor, I like to dance

If I could just retrieve a glance. Perhaps he might engage me

He Takes A Break

He takes a break, he sees me now.

Discomfort overcomes me how,

Should I behave? I raise a brow and turn away quite shyly.

I’ve come alone no-one to be, supportive friendly company

Never mind he comes to me, his smile, it shines so brightly.

“May I ask your name?” he says to me and I then ask the same of he

Mine is Nancy. His is Lee and its then the seal is broken.

His speaking voice soothes just the same and now we know each-others names

Is his interest real or just a game? I dance around the question.

Placed At The Table are my things,

My Almanac, the songs he sings

I bought his vinyl ‘Punishing’s’ the stories of my life

I hover in that space in time, wished I’d bought another wine

I really hope he’s not inclined to tell me of his wife

Lee tells me that he’s noticed me a couple of times, no, maybe three

He asks me where I like to be, when the show is over

Then says he knows that it’s quite late but would I like to share a date

When the music’s done coz he would hate to waste his four leaf clover

I just did not quite understand,

So he asked me to hold out my hand

Assured me that it wasn’t planned but here as chance would have it

A lucky charm had crossed his path and when was found caused him to laugh

As thoughts of me were in his heart and it assured he’d stray from habit

His habit that had come to be to sit alone with drink or three

Wishing he’d asked to share with me a glass of favoured Merlot

Lee’s taste in wine was known as good right throughout this neighbourhood

Many bottles still withstood Bright Cellars of his furlough

So on this night he took a chance,

To ask me out, to share a dance

In hope we’d start a new romance as it was me he fancied

I thought I’d have to pinch myself, I’ll not cast a glance at someone else

This heart beat might affect my health. From then on t’was Lee and Nancy.

By M J Hanly © 16th of April 2021

Poetry to me evokes romance best. I carries a rhythm that lends itself to sensuality. You may or may not agree but if it brought some joy then show your love and give it a like. If it had you wanting more then maybe consider a tip.

Through my engagement with the Vocal platform i make efforts to support others in their creative endeavours and so in keeping with this must make it known that Clarence 'Tangcla' Tang photography again, gave generously of his work to support my submission to the 'Dream Date' challenge in the image titled 'Dusted With Magic'. The photograph 'He Takes A Break' is my own.

love poems
28

About the Creator

Mary Jo Hanly

Mary-Jo Hanly is a budding philanthropist and as such is working on all her skills to manifest this into her reality. A unique creative that has a breadth and depth of life experience unlike any other history has known. Be a part of this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.