Poets logo

When There's an Astley, There's a Way

A very distracting and slightly surreal take on the Dancing with Distraction Challenge

By Paul StewartPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
12

Do you hear the people sing?

"I hope you're not trying to earworm me"

Singing the song of angry men

"Trust me, I can fight it off..."

Reaching for your flag, are you?

"Actually, I'm reaching for ear plugs"

Cool story, but I'm not buying it

There is a life about to start when tomorrow comes

"I am completely immune to all earworms"

Okay, but I'm never going to give you up

"Never gonna let you down, never gonna run around and desert you - oh you ass!"

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's note, I guess: I have other ideas I am still working on for the Dancing with Distractions Challenge, as I love Acrostics. Anyone that knows me will know this, so thank you Vocal!

However, as an antidote to the serious amount of self-reflective and darker poems and pieces I've posted recently, I wanted to do something wacky.

It is what it is.

Here are a couple of other pieces you might like to check, if you have time and inclination:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

social commentarysurreal poetryperformance poetryinspirationalhumorfact or fiction
12

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    Oh man! Can't believe I got Rick-Rolled! Lol! Jokes aside, you are the King of Acrostics! If they never choose you as the Winner, I'd be very disappointed 🥺

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    🤣 I still can’t believe Rick Astley is white. The face doesn’t match the voice. I remember hearing this song on the radio as a little girl, but not knowing who sang it until the “Rickroll” thing.

  • You just had to do it, didn't you, Paul? Earworm the entire community. I love it!

  • Great Take❤️‼️

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    LOL Brilliant and cheeky love it! and: https://vocal.media/poets/rickrolled

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    I knew this challenge would be right up your alley. I actually thought about you when I saw the prompt, lol. Paul “Acrostic” Stewart. Has a nice ring to it. Good luck in the Challenge, Paul.

  • Ha! I just got Rick-Rolled! Well done, Paul. It is clever and fun.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.