Poets logo

When The World Goes Quiet

A glimpse into my world.

By A. GonzálezPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5
When The World Goes Quiet
Photo by Benjamin Zanatta on Unsplash

When the world goes quiet,

That’ll be a happy day.

Imagine all the noise is gone,

Sometimes that’s all I pray.

No children throwing tantrums,

No more talking over phones.

If all the noise ceased to exist,

I’d gladly leave my home.

Take away the bells,

Hell, take away the horns.

Get rid of the whistles, too,

And all their other forms.

I do not want your ear plugs,

Your tips or your advice.

No matter what I try to do,

I always pay the price.

When the world goes quiet,

Now wouldn’t that be grand?

Nothing here would bother me,

Though life would be quite bland.

There would be no music,

No joyous noise at all.

I couldn’t hear the bluebirds sing,

Or how the leaves sway in the fall.

I’d miss the way the river runs

behind my parent’s home.

I’d miss the sound of windy days,

The way they seem to drone.

I know these are the sounds of life,

It’s nothing we can help.

Even though I hate the noise,

I must control myself.

No matter what I try to do,

It’s something I can’t change.

But if I could confess something:

I wish I wasn’t this way.

art
5

About the Creator

A. González

I am a 24 y/o person from a small town in Oklahoma.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Carolyn Ladd2 years ago

    This truly breaks my heart for her.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.