Poets logo

When the search ends...

The magic begins

By Marie McGrath DavisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
My WeeMac, my wee love

It was love, so it was

It was love at first sight

And it came as I fled

My depression, dark night

And yet, more than love

For it entered unsought

I’d long given up

Why, I no longer thought

That the heart I had nursed

In sorrow these years

Could yet beat anon

Could discern through my tears

That one eve in winter

I’d look out to see

A lad in a wool coat

Crying for me.

To the door I did go

At the door I did find

That our hearts did entangle

We were of a kind.

Now seven years on

He delights me anew

We share every moment

And nothing will do

But we stroll through the forests

And trail through the streams

And we find in the lush fields

Our surfeit of dreams.

I trust that he knows

I hold his life above

My concern for myself

And, yet, despite love

We, one of us, bears

The curse of our kind

Still I pray that my true love

Won’t leave me behind.

I loved him at first

And I’ll love him at last.

I’ll love him long after

My sweet boy has passed.

And always I’ll see him

As on that first eve

When he found me and saved me

And made me believe

That love is a treasure

Words cannot define

And our history will speak of

My dog’s life, and mine.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Marie McGrath Davis

If I didn't write, I would explode.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.