Poets logo

When Surrender Beckons:

Exploring the Depths of Emotional Exhaustion

By OliverPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1

And if I give up?

Today I feel down

My heart aches

I can hardly breathe

Even my brain doesn't know what's happening.

I'm tired of all this

I endure it all just for you

Even if I'm dead inside

I'll always smile for you.

Do you know what it feels like to be like this?

Coming home only to sigh

In bed, tired of living

Drowning tears to avoid crying.

Sleeping until dawn,

Wishing it never dawns

Seeking the sunset

Where it never turns to night.

A doubt entered my mind

What will happen if I no longer walk with you?

And if I sleep in those hands that seem like a cradle

What would happen if I just give up...

And what if I just give up?"

heartbreaksocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalfact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Oliver

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.