Poets logo

When My Mirror Spoke

Self-love poem

By Amourè DeezyyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read

As I cried and let tears rush down to my chin, snot ran down to my upper lip enough for me to taste, lifting my head upright in front of the mirror staring into my own eyes like a beaten puppy. My mirror spoke to me one day, a day I was not aware of my power and potential, a day where I chose to wallow in self-pity and absorb the limited beliefs instilled in me. But looking into my own eyes, seeing my own body a vessel I was blessed to navigate however I chose. I had taken advantage of myself, my body, and my tenderness. I allowed myself to prioritize people and places over my being at times. Looking into this mirror created tension in my throat holding my tears in my throat. I felt shame and defeat I thought I had let myself down my inner child curling, ready to take a nap as a defense mechanism. But then I heard a pitched ringing it was coming from the mirror vibrating, a bright light shadowing the mirror as if I activated Dr. Stranges' portal. My mirror spoke to me it said,

I've seen you cry, I've seen you smile.

Your improvements came after a million miles.

Your not fat, but you're not skinny.

You look good in whatever MK or Fendi.

You match your clothes for me to see.

How many times have you changed your fit, about three?

They downed your size and drained you.

You stuck your head out, look at that brave view.

No one can stop you now.

Remember that furry bag-printed cow?

That red inflamed constellation of pimples

To that new skincare routine, you keep so simple

The lip liners to concealers

These dudes don’t feel her

They want to feel her.

I heard you shattered some of my friends.

You let that nasty temper in.

Can you move it?

Go and be a stripper then.

Big goals, who knows?

In hell, it snows.

Let's hope this lasts until eternity

You beautiful black thick queen full of knowledge.

I enjoy looking at your features every day.

You’d be rich if looks can pay.

I’d love to have this job forever.

Reflecting on you is my greatest treasure.

From the words of the hanging mirror.

You are beautiful in every way and it couldn’t be clearer.

Thanks for reading my poem. If you resonated and enjoyed it, please let me know by hitting the heart, subscribing for more content, and considering dropping a small tip to help encourage and fund further creations from me. Appreciated, never required!

Many thanks.

You can also check out my recent poem “ I like what I like” here:

sad poetry

About the Creator

Amourè Deezyy

Unorthodox woman creating soul-feeding content for great people who are connecting with themselves.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amourè DeezyyWritten by Amourè Deezyy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.