Poets logo

When I See You

From Across the Room

By M.J. CarlockPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
When I See You
Photo by Cristina Gottardi on Unsplash

Deep breaths, deep breaths,

I don't wanna presume,

What is this fluttering in my chest?

I'm feeling like such a mess,

My heart begins to zoom,

Deep breaths, deep breaths,

Wondering if I picked the right dress,

As I navigate through the room,

What is this fluttering in my chest?

Gotta take this step, play this game of chess,

The fire rages, threatens to consume,

Deep breaths, deep breaths,

Can't the nerves subside, take a rest?

The whole situation looms, speaks of doom,

But I digress, I have something I must confess,

I assure you, it's no jest, not a test,

Hope my efforts don't come to ruin,

Deep breaths, deep breaths,

What is this fluttering in my chest?

Confess, confess,

But I feel scared to, don't wanna lose you,

Take a guess,

Throw the dice, place our bets,

And I choose to,

Confess, confess,

Nevertheless, doesn't stop the distress,

Could you give me a clue for a cue,

Take a guess,

The worry piles on, makes me stress,

Whatever you say, let it be true,

Confess, confess,

Please, don't let me regret,

Let my red haze fade blue,

Take a guess,

Making the first move, just a step,

"Do you like me, 'cause I like you,"

Confess, confess,

"Take a guess."

love poems
Like

About the Creator

M.J. Carlock

I find that words are powerful; regardless of their form, they carry influence over our lives, and we must wield their power with both wisdom and heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.