Poets logo

When I Looked Into His Eyes

My soul escaped my body.

By Angie LovedayPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Our first encounter...

Darkness.

A bag unzips and opens.

In pops his head,

Eyes and curls are potions.

*

Head? Upside down.

Scarf? Around his neck.

Trench coat collar? Up.

Deep voice? That's a check.

*

Fifteen was my age.

He was thirty-four.

Not to worry, I've never met him

Of that I'm sadly sure.

*

I didn't get it before,

Girls crazed with actors.

But then I saw him,

And it was fatal attraction.

*

His name? No matter how

You write it, you know

Who it is. Everyone does

Since a few years ago.

*

Banister Crumblebench

Buttercup Cumbersnatch

Bonkyhort Cutiebrunch

Benedict Cumberbatch

*

No matter the names,

I knew him a different way.

To me he was Sherlock

Who snatched my heart away.

*

As the minutes crawled on,

Looking at him was bliss.

My heart beat faster now.

A feeling I couldn't dismiss.

*

The world was not the same.

He was the beginning of a wave.

Of a parade of actors and actresses

To whom my fan love I gave.

*

Yet he was the first.

The one and only

That to this day I see

And takes away my lonely...

*

Heart.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Angie Loveday

An asexual Costa Rican filmmaker and writer fumbling her way through words, hoping to make some sense to the netizens. You can follow me online @ang_lovestheday

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.