Poets logo

Roots Lost

Where do I come from?

By Angie LovedayPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2022
24
Roots Lost
Photo by Matt Artz on Unsplash

I grieve the loss of a culture

I never knew I had.

I wonder if its now too late

To try and get it back.

*

From Malta came my grandma,

The one I never met,

With language, food, and ways of life

I yearn for with regret.

*

But I don’t need to go so far,

The same thing happens here.

Erased by years of Spanish rule

To which native groups adhere.

*

I thought I knew my roots,

English and Spanish too.

But those were nothing more than lies

When thinking lineage through.

*

Where has it gone? Where do I go?

How do I get it back?

Erasure comes much worse than death

And there’s no changing track.

*

So when people ask me

Why do I want to write?

It’s so that we’re not forgotten,

Hope to stick like parasites.

*

My way of life. My hopes and dreams

Are nothing more than thought,

But i don’t want to lose my ways

Even if I’m just a fraud.

****************

"Roots Lost" won Best Second Year Poetry in English at the Fourteenth Creative Writing Contest in French and English from the University of Costa Rica.

social commentary
24

About the Creator

Angie Loveday

An asexual Costa Rican filmmaker and writer fumbling her way through words, hoping to make some sense to the netizens. You can follow me online @ang_lovestheday

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.