Poets logo

when I first saw you, it wasn't love.

Now, I can't live without you.

By MinaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

When I first saw you, it wasn't love

Red curly hair slicked back in a high pony

green eyes glimmering with laughter,

you were laughing with the boy I wanted

when I first saw you, it wasn't love.

He was my best friend, the most popular boy in school

His high pitched laugh made me want to swoon

He had eyes bluer than the ocean

He and I were meant to be

Then there was you,

The first time I saw you, it wasn't love

you were wooing the boy I wanted.

A bull in a china shop, a play and a metaphor

I wasn't ready to crash into you

Love interests you played, him a detective and you a reporter

every scene made me weak in the knees, wishing it were me

Alas an old lady I played, and I watched, and waited

One day you were in need of a ride, and near my home you lived

upon discovering our proximity, we met at a park called pinery.

When I first saw you, it wasn't love

sitting on the bleachers, i laughed harder than I ever have

tears ran down our faces, and then down your leg.

It was a moment cemented in time, as you said,

I'll understand if you never want to hang out with me again

my only response, I think this makes us best friends.

When I first saw you, it wasn't love

now I can't imagine my life without you

In the end, neither of us got the boy

and you decided you didn't even want one.

but we got each other and that's the best kind of love story

my bester fivever.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Mina

Sitting by a fire on the lake, enjoying a latte and a scone. My husband next to me as my kids roast marshmallows. It sounds like a fairytale, but it's much better because, it's my real life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.