Poets logo

When I Die, Turn My Pockets Out

A Poem

By Benny ShlesingerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2

When I die I want you to turn my pockets out.

I can’t take anything with me anyway.

When I die, turn my pockets out.

So both God and the Devil know I’ve paid.

When I go, I want you to set me on fire.

Set me ablaze on a humble pyre.

I don’t want it grand, that’s not what I’ve planned.

When I go, when that is I don’t know, that is what I desire.

When I’m done, I want you to hold my son.

Tell him it’s ok and that I’ve had my fun.

My children I love you, I’m right there above you

Don’t you worry so hard, sing the songs I’ve sung.

When I pass, I want you to cry.

Let the tears flow for a moment, let them fly.

This somber stone do not hold, I’d rather you let it go

This is not my forever goodbye.

When I’ve gone, I want you to mourn.

With smoke and ale and a cornucopia horn.

I’ve lived a good life, despite the meddlesome strife

And when your times comes I’ll meet you on a golden shore.

When I’m cold, I want you to bury me away.

It does not do to overstay.

To have known you has been a pleasure I shall treasure forever

I’ll put in a good word for you, I’ve plenty good to say.

When I die I want you to turn my pockets out.

I can’t take anything with me anyway.

When I die, turn my pockets out.

So both God and the Devil know I’ve paid.

I love you dearly, my dear,

In your arms, I’ve never feared,

Know my love isn’t trapped in this grave.

My Love, to you I am bound, though I’m now in the ground.

I’ll meet you next time, I’ll see you that day.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Benny Shlesinger

Amateur philosopher, avid keyboard pitter-patterer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.