Poets logo

Whatever 'In Love' Means

To lose your fantasy and build it again

By Tanner PeifferPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

Are you in love?

Of course-

Whatever ‘in love’ means…

***

Pulled into a focal point kiss

For the whole young world to see

I hitch my wagon to a royal hearse and drive toward eternity

***

It’s amazing how our punishments can be exactly what we wanted

As we find the blinds we’ve had were open to shadows that we flaunted

With sunlight’s expectations

***

It’s surreal, spinning for socialite reels

Falling head over heels

With tears for fears that I'm too naïve

For the leering peers that disbelieve

My valentine intentions

***

It’s so real, dizzy from throwing up meals

Making charity deals

With years of gears that I turned and heaved

For cheers over beers as I silently grieved

My fairytale inventions

***

Feminine intuition

Filtered irrelevance

Nothing's caused humans more trouble than intelligence

Masculine ambition

Casual irreverence

Nothing has cheated you more than the evidence

***

Maybe I was the one who looked like a fool

When the people’s Princess lost her cool

For a dream that turned into a nightmare

For a man whose passion was elsewhere

But I’ve placed my heart in a pillar

For a door to open above

And I’m off to somewhere better-

Released like an injured dove

***

My love, it can’t be sacrificed

Like spears thrown out to sea

Lately I’ve been dressing for swift revenge

And I won’t return to thee

***

My love, it takes a spark to ignite

Like the matches I can see

The other man juggle in his denim pocket

With a ring of untried keys

And he wasn’t the lavish one in London

Who echoed through castle halls

But his voice is beginning to heal my heart

And melt my lonesome walls

***

He’s flowers in the dead of winter

And a call from a long lost friend

He’s a melting iceberg on the starboard side

As titanic snowfall comes to an end

***

It’s amazing how our punishments can be exactly what we wanted

As we leave our own bereavement in the towers that we haunted

In a dark, dark twisted fantasy

***

Now I sail to the mountains

With a homecoming desire

As he sails in the fountain

Of my ever-burning fire

***

And I ask him what we’ll live on this month

Once upon a dream

He says the answer is “Love, woman”

Whatever ‘in love’ means

celebritiesheartbreakinspirationallove poemssad poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tanner Peiffer

I'm an aspiring poet, writing from both personal experiences and surreal concepts, with the goal of inspiring anyone who may read. I hope my art can strike a chord and shift a perspective or two. 20 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.