Poets logo

Whatever Consumes Me

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Whatever Consumes Me
Photo by Markos Mant on Unsplash

Whatever consumes me, let it consume me faster.

So that I don’t have to look back, but still come back after.

For I need to see the end result, clear and unobstructed,

But how can I, if my mind by dreams is constructed?

I cannot see the green light at the end,

I only see gold and good descend.

I draw figures to wrap myself around,

Only to find that I am so lost, not found.

Numerically speaking, I should know my course.

But even I can’t chase rivers to their source.

Foolish tricks I play on myself, just to know a fool.

But let’s be honest: who’s the real tool?

Whatever consumes me, let it consume me faster.

For if my stars are alight, then I hope to see them after.

But what after do I intend to define?

I don’t really, I suppose I’ll just draw a line.

Maybe that wouldn’t be so hard to read.

Maybe that’ll finally give me a lead.

I don’t know where I’m going.

I’m slipping and falling.

Hurry back.

The pattern is showing.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MVWritten by Mihaela Vasileva

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.