Poets logo

What You Should Know

If You Decide to Love Me

By Abigail RosePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Before you try being with me, or loving me, I need you to understand these things. I've had hands lain on me, when all I wanted was for them to caress me gently. I've given my everything to someone who, gave their everything to someone else. I've had people lie to me, and tell me that they loved me, when the only thing they loved, was below my waist, and in-between my legs. I've been with someone who only wanted me around when they needed something, but left me begging for their attention, and company. I've been with someone who loved the empowerment he felt being with me, but who couldn't handle the exclusivity that came with me. I've had someone accuse me of cheating, when they were the ones lying in other women's beds. I've had my trust broken so many times, that it's started to feel like everything will end the same way; with them in the arms of another, as I lay in my own, while silent tears fall down my face. I constantly battle with thoughts that I am not good enough, and when a healthy relationship comes along, it terrifies me more then anything before it. I'm terrified of finding love in someone else, and being the only one that ever falls. So before you be with me, or love me, I need you to understand something. I'll pledge all of my loyalty to you, constantly write you sonnets and paragraphs on how I appreciate you; but, it'll take work for me to trust you.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Abigail Rose

Writing helps me heal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.