Poets logo

What They'll Say

Trigger Warning

By Margo BlackPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
What They'll Say
Photo by Khashayar Kouchpeydeh on Unsplash

By his hands, I died today.

It wasn't my fault,

But that's what not they'll say.

~

He's a well mannered guy,

Honest and polite,

He would never tell a lie.

~

That's what his parents will say,

The neighbors agree,

And yet, I still died today.

~

Her shirt neckline was too low,

Her skirt was too short,

His friends will rowdily crow.

~

Even though I died today,

It wasn't his fault.

That's what the town will all say.

~

A high school athletic star,

Loved by one and all,

Are they sure it was his car?

~

That's what the papers will say,

With records he set.

His future? I died today!

~

The police will roll their eyes

While my friends protest

And my poor family cries.

~

I died today.

It was my fault.

That's what they'll say.

social commentary

About the Creator

Margo Black

I am a born story teller, creating stories before I could read or write. My mom would write down my words and then I would illustrate the pages. As I grew, I discovered poetry, song writing, and horror genre. I hope to find my voice again.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    You capture so much!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    A too-common story. Well done.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Sad but well written.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    The depth of this is powerful, and I enjoyed how thought-provoking this is!

  • So very sad and so touching. Happy to subscribe to you work.

  • Wow that is so powerful. You have a subscription

  • Hamza Shafiqabout a year ago

    Very well written

Margo BlackWritten by Margo Black

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.