Poets logo

What Once Was My Everything

(is not anymore)

By Tanner PeifferPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

You once were the lattice that sheltered my vines,

The temple I prayed to at night

Now my absence speaks volumes to you in the dark

As you chisel your own burning heart

***

You once were the warrior, labrys in hand

Defending my honor with might

Now you’re lost in the labyrinth, I’ve cut the twine

As the steam from your breath catches light

***

After all this time,

What once was my everything

Is now just a moment

I can think of whenever I want

What once was your everything

Is now just a burden

You’ll carry with hope but for naught

What once was our everything

Is now just a memory

With a burning vignette creeping in

What once was my everything

Was never my everything

If it meant that the flames ended lit

***

And as time pulls gently on the threads that link our suffering

We fray together

Satisfied to numb the shared feelings

***

You once were the paint seeping into my soul

That made me feel colorful

Now the shadows all laugh in your white barren room

As you mourn what you feared you’d lose

***

You once were the knight of swords, bounding to me

In polished silver pageantry

Now your destrier’s dead, surrounded by flies

And you look for a new pair of eyes

***

But one man’s far too much is another man’s not enough

And one man’s all my life is another man’s that’s so lame

‘Cause one man’s ringing bell is another man’s silent hell

And one man’s empty tears is another man’s feel your pain

***

After all this time,

What once was my everything

Is now just a toolbox

I can use for the next memories

What once was your everything

Is now just a sore spot

That bruises but never will bleed

What once was our everything

Is now just a heartbreak

To cross off the teen bucket list

What once was my everything

Was never my everything

Just one more experience

***

And as rain falls slowly on the cogs that turn our blazing thoughts

We rust together

Gratified to cut the failed knots

***

And as earth builds slowly on the weapons once ripe to be drawn

We dig together

Petrified to leave them on the lawn

***

And as skin shows slowly on the wounds we’ve racked up through this game

We heal together

Unified in independent ways

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Tanner Peiffer

I'm an aspiring poet, writing from both personal experiences and surreal concepts, with the goal of inspiring anyone who may read. I hope my art can strike a chord and shift a perspective or two. 20 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.