Poets logo

What Makes A Poet

Wandering Words

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
7
What Makes A Poet
Photo by Laura Chouette on Unsplash

Am I a poet

because I can rhyme

Am I a writer

if the beat is on time

A master of emotions

words collected for free

A tear in the ocean

a drop in the sea

What does it mean

if I write it all down

I have no degree

just the pen of a clown

Expressing a feeling

or describing a mood

Emotionally appealing

making you feel subdued

A different perspective

something you didn't see

Choosing something selective

presenting a key

A way to escape

helped you open a door

Pulled back the drapes

showing you something more

Or maybe, just maybe

gave you a new way to feel

Showed you a daisy

gave you thoughts to unpeel

Helped you uncover

mysteries unaware

Turned you into a lover

laid your feelings out, bare

Or maybe you're untouched

and I'm not a poet at all

Just writing words on a page, etched

waiting for the one it enthralls

surreal poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational
7

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    You are most definitely a poet, and one of my favorites.

  • Heather Hubler6 months ago

    You out ‘poet’ us all! Beautifully expressed :)

  • Oh, you're definitely a poet, Kelli

  • Test6 months ago

    Very creative and powerful Kelli Sheckler Amsden. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.