Poets logo

What love becomes

A broken love letter

By LexingtonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

Why's the love so HEAVY?

Feels like I'm carrying a mountain on my back.

Why's it hurt already?

Feels like there's so much! Every time I think about what I lack.

Don't make sense to me,

I love you in ways you can't see,

Yet close to you is the only thing you say I can't be.

You say "it harms me."

I feel it,

Yeah, I get it,

I swear I do,

Was probably always gonna get here,

Swear we knew...

Now you cut ties,

Blocked ears,

And closed eyes.

Building your own grave site to visit for when our love dies.

But not me,

that misery must have forgot me,

I can't bury the good with the bad,

The living with the dead,

On my life, that's where you lost me.

There's a battle we have to fight and it feels pyrrhic,

You want to battle to HEAL,

I want to BATTLE with a HEALED SPIRIT!

Tell me where it hurts, I want to kneel in it!

Just to show you what real love is worth when you're feeling it.

You'd say I should turn the other cheek for my enemy,

Imagine what I should do for you,

My sweet serenity.

I'd die a hundred deaths!

To love you and not have you...

I'd silence my last breath,

Just to better understand you...

How could I reflect on what we've left and still plan to,

Let our love... become a poison... that I hand you.

inspirationallove poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Lexington

I am new to writing, but I have always been fascinated with words, storytelling, and communication in general. I'm an eclectic soul, with many interests and I hope to write everything from fiction to research pieces, who knows.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Good poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.