Poets logo

What Lies Beneath

Behind a Picture

By Anastasia Gypsy Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

What Lies Beneath

Behind A Picture

Our worlds completely torn apart

Absolutely Shattered and Ripped to threads

All In Front of Such Innocent Eyes

Dead An Empty Vessel of Aching Heart

Watching as their Father tore off more shreds

Behind doors of hate fuelled words and angry voices

Echoing from room to room they’d hear my Cries

Each day even more hate he’d create

I’m so void his words would fill empty spaces

The More Love I gave more he’d berate

Thought my happiness I could sacrifice

For my children to have family union, togetherness

But Disrespect and smashed walls left me no choice

I couldn’t allow it I couldn’t bear the hate

He had murdered and vamped my energy of any life

So young innocent and free both looking up to me

But me was no longer Id been broken beyond repair

The chaos and dysfunction the house our battleground

If only I could have silenced the sound

Each Day was dying in total despair

The relationship we had; it was not love we taught

For this love he claims to give is cold and heartless

He was once my everything my world, for him I fought

With every breath it was he who was my air

But he left me gasping, begging for time and his love

He Love became my Drug Strung out for long nights

We were Stuck on full throttle in fight or flight

Such Innocence know’s no other it’s Programmed Normal, believed to be Love

It hurts so bad so painful as my Love was Pure

What we’re showing tho our Loves can’t suffice

14 years & I set him free his hate I could no longer endure

It’s all my precious children have ever known

The Love that was is gone for that there’s no cure

Self Love Must be Learnt it’s Lack of I’ve paid a dear Price

Stuck in survival mode hiding in trenches

Tiptoeing Waiting for the explosives to strike

Full of Hatred Fuelled By Anger Inflicting out of Spite

No Anger No Hate for me I’ve decided I’d rather be alone

Than live is hostility with futile words

So On a getaway to try and bring some joy

We abode with a dear friend down at Wye

Nature gifted us the most beautiful Birds

In those moments I seen smiles that had been missing

I heard their hearts play a melody Of song

I witnessed giggles and fun filled screams

I saw happy and it had been void for so long

My mind was peace in this moment of time that I’d done my best

I had no choice I loved a man who was incapable of Love

That was ok I could handle that but not the hate

That was not okay my kids deserved a home

I had to learn to let him go and unlove

Needed is A home, The Home I’ve never known

They needed safe they needed my light

But I was a beautiful wreck a colourful mess

But Daddy kept turning Mummy’s lights out

Watching as my boy felt pure happiness

His eyes spoke they were alight

Holding the birds watching in complete awe

Suddenly I knew I made the right choice

And I felt a calm Like never before

The emptiness the loneliness the rejection

Confusion no longer taking his projection

Into the Valley of the Shadows of Death I’m Walking the Line

Life’s taken it’s toll and it’s hit with a Fatal Blow

I’m in a world of pain trying to find my glow

But In this moment of watching the kids and birds play

The pain it had temporarily left for a little moment in time

Such a simple experience that was treasured

Absolutely beyond any measure !!

The Picture has captured so much more than a bird in flight

What it captured was my Kids souls coming alive again

It ignited a spark ⚡️ that melted my heart 💜

That when I knew the decision I made was right

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Anastasia Gypsy

I Inspire 2 Empower others!

Passionate about Teaching 1 Self Love 4 It’s Key To Life!

Equally Passionate about Spirituality, Connecting Mind 2 Soul 2 Live Purposefully

Kindness is Free, Return’s Quantified

Spread Kindness Like it’s Infectious

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.