Poets logo

What is redemption anyway?

The search for meaning, linearity and truth

By Susan LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Portrait of a room

,Redemption is when all your mistakes

and the circuitous routes

align to become a linear path

one day.

Redemption is when all the bullshit

suddenly makes sense,

inviting you to wholeness and health.

Redemption is when you find that

perfect cup of coffee or caramel latte

and it washes away the bitter cold

and the rain-filled ambulations.

Redemption is when I suddenly

realized that justice has come a full circle

and found me again,

lifting my voice high.

Redemption is the sound of rain

on a dreary March day,

softly knocking on my windows.

Redemption is the joy of me

swimming solo and doing butterfly strokes

in an empty pool as if

I am wading through clouds.

Redemption is when a stranger shows

you kindness by offering a cup of coffee

or chamomile tea, uninvited.

Redemption is when I have arrived

at my own truth

that I am good enough,

like ice cream,

and when I feel comfortable in my own skin.

Redemption is when the rough edges

of my Life become smooth

in the hands of time,

rounded out like the surface of a cool rock.

Redemption is when she finally

finds a room of her own,

after years of searching.

Redemption is when I inhale,

taste my sweet breath,

and release it back to the Universe

becoming one with it.

Redemption is when I have arrived

at home,

finally.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Susan Lee

I graduated from Stanford University in 2002 with a BA in International Relations and a minor in Psychology and have a Masters in International Affairs from Georgetown University.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.