Poets logo

The sound of nature calling

Forgiveness

By Susan LeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Portrait of lush field - yellow and gold-kissed

I went outside this afternoon

to get intoxicated -

intoxicated from the smell of spring

and the sound of birds

that gently beckoned me into their welcoming,

loving,

and caressing fold.

I perched myself on a bench near my home and

took in the yellow and gold-kissed

fields just waking up

from the slumber of winter.

I reached for that cigarette

tucked behind my right ear,

contemplating whether or not

I should take a drag.

Breathe

Breathe

Breathe.

Inhale & exhale

Inhale & exhale

Inhale & exhale.

Nature has a way of helping you start over,

resetting your system in a way that needs to be reset,

forgiving you when the world seems so

dark, grimy and crazy sometimes,

when the world seems so steeped

in deception and anger;

I felt angry yesterday.

By evening time, the color of the

luminous sky,

purple, lavender and pink,

the color of cotton candy ,

offered a much-welcomed intermission

in this never-ending play

of cold season -

I wished the infinite stretch of the twilight canvas above

would pluck me out of the ground,

absorb me,

envelop me,

and plant me

right back

into the middle of my Life,

two months ago

when it was safe, warm and comforting.

Adieu winter -

I bid you an unregretful farewell

and embrace my new lover -

spring and new beginnings,

a new world.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Susan Lee

I graduated from Stanford University in 2002 with a BA in International Relations and a minor in Psychology and have a Masters in International Affairs from Georgetown University.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.