Poets logo

What is love?

I don’t know what it is so I wrote about it😂

By MaKayla Published 8 months ago 2 min read
Like

Our entire lives We’ve been warned about this thing,

This magical destiny that might one day come before us,

This feeling that will make our angels in heaven sing,

This emotion that we will soon realize is love,

But what is love,

How is a deep connection between two souls intertwined,

What is love,

How will I ever know when it’s truly meant to be this time,

How are two people born destined to be together,

How is fate formed in the stars,

How do we know if it will last forever,

How will we know, if we will drift apart,

What is love,

Is it this magical thing that only ones who feel it can understand,

What is love,

And if I think I I’m in it, is there a way to know that I truly am?

What is love,

Is it true than only the wise can feel it with passion,

Can you be young and in love,

And if someone doesn’t find it, should I show compassion,

Or is love really not a good thing,

Does it really benefit anyone,

Maybe it’s a curse, not a blessing,

Because the action of being made heartbroken is not fun,

Maybe love is a distraction,

A way to keep you away from your dreams,

Or maybe I just think that,

Because theres been some tension, between love and me,

Maybe love is for the hopeless,

Maybe it isn’t even real,

Maybe fate isn’t a thing,

And maybe it’s foolish to feel,

Maybe it’s dumb to feel like you’ve fallen,

Maybe I’ve just been none the wise,

Maybe I just don’t know love, because I’ve been forgotten,

Maybe it’s just that I’m someone that they all despise,

What is love truly,

Is it impossible to find,

Maybe I should block out love fully,

Out of sight, out of mind,

What is love, in reality,

Is it even real,

Is it possible to find the perfect person for you,

Or is it a hope I should just conceal,

What is love,

At its best,

And if it is,

Am I enough,

To be loved like the rest,

What is love,

Is it common,

Or is it just mistaken infatuation,

If we’re being honest,

Is love really that big a deal,

I can live without right,

In my experience love isn’t real,

But I’m not going down without a fight,

They say love comes at the strangest times,

Like when you finally love yourself,

And you would be completely fine,

If you had nobody else,

Maybe it comes when you need it the most,

Maybe it doesn’t come at all,

Or maybe I’m just still dancing with your ghost,

So for nobody else, I will ever fall.

love poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

MaKayla

I started writing real poetry this year, though I’ve been rhym-crazed since forever. It’s just something that helps me express how I feel when I’m too akward to say it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.