Poets logo

What is Comfort to an Anxious Mind?

A word.

By Bianca SerratyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1

Free of pain, the easing of grief, the alleviation of distress.

I yearn for the comfort I once knew.

The tilt of a smile, the tickle of a laugh, the thunder of peace as it washes over you.

There was a time that comfort was so much more than

a rainstorm, the sand between your toes, roaming clouds in a starry night sky.

Has it always been measured in moments? Sporadic continuous efforts to

Hold on to a peace that is fleeting, and yet can alter time to stretch

a second into a minute,

a minute into an hour,

an hour into a day,

a day into a lifetime.

What would a lifetime of comfort be like? Would grief bow to it?

Instead of pain, would the thought of a lost loved one bring me serenity?

Would the thought of their absence in this realm console me?

Would my days be filled with warm teacups overflowing with coffee? Hot stew on rainy days?

Would dancing in that rain bring me relief? Would it dull the daily aches of being alive?

What is comfort to an anxious mind?

To calm the panic that is constantly on the rise.

Three things that are true,

You are loved, and that love is warm,

You exist, where there is pain there is life,

You are in control, all it takes is a thought.

Three things that I can see,

My hands with which I create the most beautiful worlds,

A blank page for those worlds to take shape in,

A pen, to release whatever form this world chooses to take.

Three things I can hear,

The racing of my heart,

The shallow end of my breath,

The voice inside my head.

I am nothing more than a connoisseur of tranquility.

Measuring all that is and may be harmonious with the turmoil that drives me.

Seeking solace in the sunsets of the lives that existed before me,

The stars that twinkle above me,

The sliver of wonder in which we all exist in the same lifetime.

Can you imagine it, perchance? Can you see the awe the world created when it allowed us to be here together?

Making creatures of comfort, monsters of habit, and spirits of peace.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Bianca Serraty

Hi! I'm Bianca, I write poetry, read fantasy, and watch anime. My mind is the best and worst place imaginable, and I take immense joy in watching my ideas come to life. I welcome you to come in, relax and immerse yourself in my universe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.