Poets logo

What is a Teardrop?

Poem

By CrooksologyPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
What is a Teardrop?
Photo by Noah Grossenbacher on Unsplash

I feel more and say less

Sacs of words racing down my reddened cheeks

Liquid feelings that I struggle to keep at bay

What is a teardrop? A crystal dress

The one that fits my soul too perfectly

Therefore forbidden to be worn at day

And banished,

A nightgown forever.

What is a teardrop? A ball of fire

Born in the Depths of my heart

And I slowly lose control

As it burns its way to the windows of my soul

Hoping to excrete my source of pain and tire.

Stinging and pricking my eyes for a release

Until my barrier is broken,

A flood of tears cascade over my boulders.

Shall I seek a shoulder, I would feel content

but my knowledge of a hypocritical hold is older

And though my silent tears are trying to be sobs

I police myself to hold back such outbursts

making it rain until all this heat gets colder.

Leaving me with puffy red eyes

and puddles in my ears,

An expression of saddened emotions.

That is a teardrop,

A ball of fire clothed in a crystal dress

dwelling in the corners of my eyes

Waiting to do the dance, express.

Liquid emotions, a song of saddened hearts

causing me a throbbing headache

and a wagon of memories, rolling in

Oh, I wish they were lies.

heartbreaksad poetryFree Verse
1

About the Creator

Crooksology

Let us not deny that we all embark on magical journeys in our heads. The only crazy thing is pretending the other worlds don't exist when we should tell their stories instead.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.