Poets logo

What if I had gone towards one of those voices?

When I was younger and living in old apartments in Malaysia, I would sometimes hear disembodied voices calling out to me when home alone. My sister...

By spooky sessionPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
1
Recommended to play this video(music) while reading

When I was younger and living in old apartments in Malaysia, I would sometimes hear disembodied voices calling out to me when home alone. My sister was at school most of the day, and my mom worked afternoon shifts that started at 1pm, so I was by myself from when I got home from school around noon until my sister returned around 4pm.

I got used to being home alone, though I was scared at times. I knew God was with me, but still felt alone. One day when I was home alone, I heard my mom's voice calling me from the hallway near the front door. It was unusually loud. I opened the door but did not go outside the metal gate. I looked around for my mom, but she was not there.

This happened several more times over the years - whenever I was home alone, I would hear my mom's or sister's voices calling me. Something in me knew not to go near the voices, as if my mind understood nothing was really there.

Years later, when I was talking with my mom's friend about ghosts, she warned me to never go near a disembodied voice calling out, even if it sounds like a loved one. She said spirits will use the voice of those you love most to try and lure you. This revelation terrified me, as I had been hearing these voices for years but had the sense not to approach them.

I'm 18 now and don't hear the voices anymore, but the experience still scares me. What if I had gone towards one of those voices?

Mental Healthinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakBlackoutart
1

About the Creator

spooky session

Daily spooky story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatár5 days ago

    The music is phenomenal and a perfect background for your story! I can definitely imagine such voices.. super creepy. Interesting what advice your mom gave, it brings chills. So she knew something about these voices.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.