Poets logo

What I would say

Poem for Real Poetic's mini-challenge

By Jazzy Published 11 months ago 1 min read
What I would say
Photo by Mark Foster on Unsplash

The wind blew past all the marble stones; your headstone reads

Son, brother, uncle

But I know you were more than that two feet of stone

I know you were tired, but why did you leave me?

We had big plans, and I imagine you here with me.

I didn’t say you could leave; did you even think to ask?

I’m sure you’re still with me, but I feel so alone.

You’ll be safe; I can’t tell if you’ll be okay.

You can’t expect me to lie.

You never had a good poker face.

I want to memorize the lines, just in case.

You know I don’t like it when you

stare. Give me your hand; I have my

warmth to share.

I feel so cold; let me touch you again.

I’m not ready to go; this is what you

expected then.

The time is approaching.

But I’m not ready.

Are we ever?

Please don’t leave me.

I’m so sorry.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Sid Aaron Hirji10 months ago

    Wow sad and very beautiful writing on this piece

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Sad, yet beautifully written.

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Sadly beautiful work. Well said for us all.

  • This was so damn sad 😭😭😭😭😭 So beautifully written!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    !!! So sad, so relatable, beautifully written as always!

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    Great entry to the challenge. This reminds me of my own loss.

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    This was so good and heartbreaking at the same time. Well done.

Jazzy Written by Jazzy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.