Poets logo

What I Am Supposed to Be

a meditation

By Jake MitchellPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
What I Am Supposed to Be
Photo by Ben Rosett on Unsplash

Ive got my three-piece suit

and my briefcase

Well-worn half-smile

and a kind face

My greatest achievement?

placed third in the rat race

I am what I am supposed to be

I had on okay time

in my days here

I learned how to aim low

how to quell fear

Guess it's time to sit back

and have a cold beer

I am what I am supposed to be

Would've been cool

to be a rock star

If I really tried hard

i could've gone far

Just don't think too hard

it won't leave a scar

I was what I was supposed to be

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jake Mitchell

Follow Jake on Twitter: @TheJakeMitchell

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Jake Mitchell is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.