Poets logo

What Freedom Means

What freedom means to me

By Greg B.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
What Freedom Means
Photo by British Library on Unsplash

Ask me to explain freedom

How can I tell what I don’t know

Ask an eagle to burrow underground

A flamingo to rest on snow

I guess freedom means no fear

No Code switching no

My truth is placid, and you can never sow

Saying

I can’t stand you white folks

And the second I hit the door

I’m searching for a new job

With nicer white folks

Taller building just south of Ivory’s tower

Corner of Almost and Justice

Turning toward Racial Balance

Freedom means I can feel the breeze of my music which flows and stops as your cruiser moves

Freedom means I can smile without being suspect and not hold a frown to placate your norms.

Freedom means I can get lost in the stars at night, in the park after hours, and not add a flashlight to my pretty grin, oh delight

Freedom means I police my own hood and shelter the goons who need grooming before the doom.

Freedom means what it means to Jefferson

Maybe what it meant to Martin.

To deconstruct that white eclipse that blocks our hearts from love which can never part.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Greg B.

Black Man. Writer.

Now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.”

“I sit with Shakespeare and he winced not.”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.