Poets logo

What Does It Mean?

Villanelle Poem

By Obsidian WordsPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
5
What Does It Mean?
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

My words are whispers, they are pain, they are screams

My voice a violent cascade

But I never know what any of it means

I taste bitterness, I don't know why it gleams

Nor if it's natural, or monster made

My words are whispers, they are pain, they are screams

I sleep in vivid nightmares, not just pretty dreams

And the memories, they don't fade

But I never know what any of it means

It's marching or crawling through vacant silver beams

Tucked inside the shade

My words are whispers, they are pain, they are screams

Everything is tainted by the filament of machines

Covered up and paid

But I never know what any of it means

It's ignored by the people, the peasants, the queens

Their ego has been flayed

My words are whispers, they are pain, they are screams

But I never know what any of it means

social commentaryslam poetryinspirationalheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Obsidian Words

Fathomless is the mind full of stories.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Trinity H3 months ago

    I love the pacing of this, it makes it so much deeper to read

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Very dramatic and deep.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.