Poets logo

What Comfort Seems to Be

On an average day

By Joe LucaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Image from Pixabay - tsukiko-kiyomidzu

Had a day, a really long day;

The sun came up, and the hours passed.

Fear stayed away, though tragedy

struck in a neighboring town,

but not mine. I was happy.

Had lunch, met a good friend,

We talked of life and loss,

battered dreams and overtime,

and of love in a time of Pandemics.

Then ordered dessert. I love

key lime pie.

I paid the check. Walked her to

her car and asked: Are you

doing, okay?

She shook her head and smiled –

You see, I had a day, a really long day;

Worked too hard, laughed too little

thought too much of things unimportant,

but I’m here now, with you;

Thinking less, laughing more,

happy you’re still my friend.

Drove home at the end of the day,

pet my cat, fed my dog,

listened to a blue jay outside

singing on a branch;

watched a man saving a child on TV,

and made a little dinner.

Opened a book. Closed my eyes

and thought of rain and Christmas;

of carousels and picnics and daddy

not coming home from work

one day.

Remembered my mom wiping

away my tears; singing happy birthday

and hoping she liked my present,

the pancakes I had made and

the kisses on her cheek.

Closed the book. Brought my cat to bed;

Said a prayer to no one in particular

and thought of nothing much.

Just let the darkness take

me in, hold me close, and when I

listened long enough and believed

hard enough, I could hear it say goodnight.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Joe Luca

Writing is meant to be shared, so if you have a moment come visit, open a page and begin. Let me know what you like, what makes you laugh, what made you cry - just a little. And when you're done, tell a friend. Thanks and have a great day.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jenine Bsharah Baines2 years ago

    This is lovely, Joe. I make pancakes for my 93 year old mama still.

  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    So much nostalgia. I wanna cry. enjoyed reading.

  • Lovely, Joe. Just lovely. Out of habit, I kept yearning to highlight every line. Finished with a lump in my throat.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.