Poets logo

What Comes In Threes

Narrative Poem About Loss

By Rebecca A Hyde GonzalesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
What Comes In Threes
Photo by Cristina Gottardi on Unsplash

What Comes In Threes

They say death always comes in threes. I am not sure about that. I am sure about the disease. First diagnosed with prostate cancer, he fought. The chemo and radiation, a part of his routine. I didn't know until he was cancer free.

As soon as he was diagnosed, he called saying "It's just a little thing." - Skin cancer just behind his left lobe. "It is just a little thing." My father explained that it would be removed next week. I was relieved. Grateful he had told me.

I didn't get the call the next time... I called to check in and my mother answered. They didn't call - they didn't know. And when they knew it was too late. Stage IV. The most insidious kind. This time the cancer robbed him of his voice, and his ability to speak, eat or swallow. I knew too. And then I watched as he faded away.

They say death always comes in threes. I'm not sure about that, but I am sure about the disease.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Rebecca A Hyde Gonzales

I started writing when I was about eight years old. I love to read and I also love to create. As a writer and an artist, I want to share the things that I have learned and experienced. Genres: Fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    Wow. So sorry. I hate cancer!!❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.